Posted on April 22, 2020 by Klesse College

(April 22, 2020) – Congratulations to UTSA COE’s Eugene John and Xiaodu Wang, who each received a University Excellence Award! Dr. John was honored in the University Service Category for Tenure Track Faculty, while Dr. Wang was recognized in the Research Achievement Category: STEM Tenured. The virtual ceremony was held April 21.

From the program, which can be viewed here:


“We recognize the recipients of the President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for University Service. In the Tenure Track category, the award goes to Professor of Electrical Engineering Eugene John in the College of Engineering. Dr. John has engaged in superior service of the University, department, and at professional levels. Moreover he has shown exceptional service in his leadership roles, has a long history of extensive and impactful student mentoring and has a strong record of professional service. Most impressive is his student-centered approach and dedication to student mentoring, learning, and training. Dr. John has been very active in student organizations and has shown leadership and dedication for program development.”

“We recognize the recipients of the President’s Distinguished Achievement Awards for Research Achievement. In the category of Tenured STEM faculty, the award goes to Professor of Mechanical Engineering Xiaodu Wang in the College of Engineering. Dr. Wong’s expertise in the mechanics of biological materials and structures is known through his sustained contribution to UTSA and scientific publications and research funding. Dr. Wong has published 90 high-quality peer-reviewed scientific journal papers, one book, six book chapters, one U.S. Patent, and 160 peer-reviewed conference papers. Dr. Wong’s publications have been cited nearly 5,000 times. Since joining UTSA in 1999, Dr. Wong has been funded with grants totaling more than $14 million – a real testament of the impact of his work.”
– Dr. Kimberly Andrews Espy, Provost

— Klesse College