Posted on February 14, 2022 by Rory Dew

FEBRUARY 14, 2022 – Rena Bizios , Lutcher Brown Endowed Chair Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, was recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) as part of the 2022 induction class.

Election to the NAE is one of the foremost professional accomplishments in the field and is reserved for those who demonstrate significant contributions to the engineering literature and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education”. Professor Bizios was recognized for her “contributions to the theory and applications of cellular tissue engineering, cell/biomaterial interactions, and surface modification biomaterials.”

Bizios is an exemplar of UTSA faculty excellence. A chemical/biomedical engineer by training and a pioneer in the field of biomedical engineering education and research, she joined the faculty at UTSA in 2006. Her contributions to education and her research accomplishments have been regularly recognized throughout her career. She was elected as a charter member of the UTSA Academy of Distinguished Researchers in 2015. Bizios has received numerous awards while at UTSA, including the Distinguished Scientist Award, Houston Society for Engineering in Medicine and Biology (2009); the Women’s Initiatives Mentorship Excellence Award by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (2010); the Founders Award, Society for Biomaterials (2014); the Theo C. Pilkington Outstanding Educator Award by the Biomedical Engineering Division, American Society for Engineering Education (2014); Amber Award, The UTSA Ambassadors, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2014); the Excellence in STEM Education Award by the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (2018); the Excellence in Biomaterials Science Award by the Surfaces in Biomaterials Foundation (2019); and the Award for Innovation in Healthcare and Bioscience, by BioMed SA, San Antonio, TX (2020).

She is member of the National Academy of Medicine, the Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas, the International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering, the National Academy of Inventors, and the Academy of Athens, Greece.

Bizios is fellow of five professional societies: the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, International Union of the Societies for Biomaterials Sciences and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering Society, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

“On behalf of the faculty, staff, and students of Klesse College, I congratulate Rena on this tremendous achievement,” said JoAnn Browning , Dean of Klesse College of Engineering and Integrated Design. “Election to the NAE is a special recognition that is extended to exceptional academics and leaders in our field. We are appreciative of her hard work as a researcher and educator at Klesse College.”

In total, 111 new members and 22 international members were included in this year’s class. The academy now comprises of 2,388 members and 310 international members.

Read the full press release from NAE .

— Rory Dew