The Mechanical Engineering faculty, which excel both in research and in the classroom, has grown to 28 full-time, 4 adjoint, and 4 dual-appointment members, and includes renowned Fellows of the ASME, AHA, IEEE, SPIE, ACerS, AAAS, and other professional engineering societies, three active National Science Foundation CAREER Awardees, and recipients of prestigious national (Carnegie Foundation) and state (UT System Regents) teaching awards.

student holding a circuit board in a lab coat

Mechanical Engineering Faculty

View all faculty
Omar Abbaas

Omar Abbaas, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

omar.abbaas@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.54

210-458-8746

Adel Alaeddini Ph.D.

Adel Alaeddini, Ph.D.

Professor

CAMLS Director

adel.alaeddini@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.48

210-458-8747

Placeholder

Guillermo Araya, Ph.D.

Wayne and Julie Fagan Endowed Professor

Associate Professor

juan.araya@utsa.edu

AET 2.318

210-458-6479

Keith M. Axler, Ph.D., PMP

Keith M. Axler, Ph.D., PMP

Associate Professor of Instruction

keith.axler@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.23

210-458-6431

Kiran Bhaganagar, Ph.D.

Kiran Bhaganagar, Ph.D.

Professor

Associate Fellow of AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astraunatics)

kiran.bhaganagar@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.16

210-458-6496

Krystel K. Castillo, Ph.D.

Krystel K. Castillo, Ph.D.

Lutcher Brown Chair in Mechanical Engineering

Professor

Director, Texas Sustainable Energy Research Institute (TSERI) at UTSA

krystel.castillo@utsa.edu

AET 2.303

210-458-8746

F. Frank Chen, Ph.D.

F. Frank Chen, Ph.D.

Lutcher Brown Distinguished Chair in Advanced Manufacturing

Professor

SME Fellow and IISE Fellow

ff.chen@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.42

210-458-5382

Christopher S. Combs, Ph.D.

Christopher S. Combs, Ph.D.

Dee Howard Memorial Endowed Faculty Fellowship in Mechanical Engineering

Graduate Advisor of Record: M.S. Aerospace Engineering

ccombs@utsa.edu

210-458-8288

Ender Finol, Ph.D.

Ender Finol, Ph.D.

Zachry Mechanical Engineering Department Endowed Chair

Professor

Fellow of ASME and AHA

Chair of Mechanical Engineering

ender.finol@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.02

210-258-4952

Hai-Chao Han, Ph.D.

Hai-Chao Han, Ph.D.

Professor

Fellow of ASME, AHA & AIMBE

hchan@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.02

210-458-8189

Placeholder

Francisco Herbert, Ph.D.

Klesse Endowed Fellow

Professor of Instruction

Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Francisco.Herbert@utsa.edu

AET 2.214

R. Lyle Hood, Ph.D.

R. Lyle Hood, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

robert.hood@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.61

210-458-7909

James E Johnson, MBA

James E Johnson, MBA

Associate Professor in Practice

james.johnson1@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.22

210-458-5023

Amir Karimi, Ph.D.

Amir Karimi, Ph.D.

Professor

Undergraduate Advisor of Record

ASME and ASEE Fellow

amir.karimi@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.20

210-458-5514

Randall D. Manteufel, Ph.D.

Randall D. Manteufel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

ASME Fellow

rmanteufel@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.58

210-458-5522

Harry Millwater, Ph.D.

Harry Millwater, Ph.D.

Samuel G. Dawson Endowed Professor

Associate Chair for Research

harry.millwater@utsa.edu

BSE 2.106

210-458-4481

Arturo Montoya, Ph.D.

Arturo Montoya, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs

Associate Professor

arturo.montoya@utsa.edu

BSE 1.306

210-458-7516

Morteza Seidi, Ph.D., P.E.

Morteza Seidi, Ph.D., P.E.

Assistant Professor

morteza.seidi@utsa.edu

AET 1.368

Ashok Nedungadi, Ph.D.

Ashok Nedungadi, Ph.D.

Professor of Instruction

ashok.nedungadi@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.06

210-458-5591

Carl F. Popelar, Ph.D.

Carl F. Popelar, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

carl.popelar@swri.org

(210) 522-4213

Hardev Singh

Hardev Singh

Assistant Professor of Practice

Hardev.Singh@utsa.edu

210-458-6570

Yesh P. Singh, Ph.D., P.E.

Yesh P. Singh, Ph.D., P.E.

Professor Emeritus

ASME Life Fellow

yesh.singh@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.08

Elizabeth S. Sooby, Ph.D.

Elizabeth S. Sooby, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Joint appointment with Department of Physics and Astronomy

elizabeth.soobywood@utsa.edu

210-458-7901

James D. Walker, Ph.D.

James D. Walker, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

ASME and AIAA Fellow

Ballistics Sciences Fellow of IBS

james.walker@swri.org

Xiaodu Wang, Ph.D.

Xiaodu Wang, Ph.D.

Professor

ASME and AIMBE Fellow

Graduate Advisor of Record: Mechanical Engineering, M.S. & M.S. AMEE

xiaodu.wang@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.23

210-458-5565

Hung-da Wan, Ph.D.

Hung-da Wan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Assistant Chair

hungda.wan@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.50

210-458-6325

Xiaowei Zeng, Ph.D.

Xiaowei Zeng, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Graduate Advisor of Record for PhD program

xiaowei.zeng@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.24

210-458-7698

Xuan Zhou, Ph.D.

Xuan Zhou, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Joint Appointment with Mechanical Engineering

Xuan.Zhou@utsa.edu

AET 3.374

210-458-7843

Staff

Ben Campos

Ben Campos

Adminstrative Manager

Ben.Campos@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.02

210-458-6021

Cayla Jimenez

Cayla Jimenez

Program Coordinator

Cayla.Jimenez@utsa.edu

EB 3.04.02

210-458-6477

Student holding a circuit board

Your future starts here

Offering degrees and certificates in engineering, architecture, construction science and management, historic preservation, interior design, and urban and regional planning at undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral levels

30

Degree programs

4200

Students

143

Faculty