The Mechanical Engineering faculty, which excels both in research and in the classroom, has grown to 30 full-time, 3 adjoint, and 4 dual-appointment members and includes renowned Fellows of the IEEE, SPIE, ACerS, AAAS, and other professional engineering societies, National Science Foundation CAREER Awardees, and recipients of prestigious national (Carnegie Foundation) and state (UT System Regents) teaching awards.

student holding a circuit board in a lab coat

Mechanics and Materials

View all faculty
Adel Alaeddini Ph.D.

Adel Alaeddini, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

CAMLS Director

adel.alaeddini@utsa.edu

210-458-8747

Kiran Bhaganagar, Ph.D.

Kiran Bhaganagar, Ph.D.

Professor

Associate Fellow of AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astraunatics)

kiran.bhaganagar@utsa.edu

210-458-6496

Krystel K. Castillo, Ph.D.

Krystel K. Castillo, Ph.D.

Professor

Greenstar Endowed Professorship in Energy

Director, Texas Sustainable Energy Research Institute (TSERI) at UTSA

krystel.castillo@utsa.edu

210-458-8746

F. Frank Chen, Ph.D.

F. Frank Chen, Ph.D.

Lutcher Brown Distinguished Chair in Advanced Manufacturing

Professor

SME Fellow and IISE Fellow

ff.chen@utsa.edu

210-458-5382

Christopher S. Combs, Ph.D.

Christopher S. Combs, Ph.D.

Dee Howard Memorial Endowed Faculty Fellowship in Mechanical Engineering

Assistant Professor

ccombs@utsa.edu

210-458-8288

Zhi-Gang Feng, Ph.D.

Zhi-Gang Feng, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Assistant Department Chair

zhigang.feng@utsa.edu

210-458-5737

Ender Finol, Ph.D.

Ender Finol, Ph.D.

Professor, Fellow of ASME and AHA

Zachry Mechanical Engineering Department Endowed Chair

ender.finol@utsa.edu

210-258-4952

Hai-Chao Han, Ph.D.

Hai-Chao Han, Ph.D.

Professor

Fellow of ASME, AHA & AIMBE

hchan@utsa.edu

210-458-8189

Placeholder

Francisco Herbert, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Francisco.Herbert@utsa.edu

Amir Karimi, Ph.D.

Amir Karimi, Ph.D.

Professor

Undergraduate Advisor of Record

ASME and ASEE Fellow

amir.karimi@utsa.edu

210-458-5541

Harry Millwater, Ph.D.

Harry Millwater, Ph.D.

Samuel G. Dawson Endowed Professor

Associate Chair for Research

harry.millwater@utsa.edu

210-458-4481

Arturo Montoya, Ph.D.

Arturo Montoya, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs

Associate Professor

arturo.montoya@utsa.edu

210-458-7516

Carl F. Popelar, Ph.D.

Carl F. Popelar, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

carl.popelar@swri.org

(210) 522-4213

Hardev Singh

Hardev Singh

Assistant Professor of Practice

Hardev.Singh@utsa.edu

210-458-6570

Yesh P. Singh, Ph.D., P.E.

Yesh P. Singh, Ph.D., P.E.

Professor Emeritus

ASME Life Fellow

yesh.singh@utsa.edu

Elizabeth S. Sooby, Ph.D.

Elizabeth S. Sooby, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Joint appointment with Department of Physics and Astronomy

elizabeth.soobywood@utsa.edu

210-458-7901

James D. Walker, Ph.D.

James D. Walker, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

ASME and AIAA Fellow

Ballistics Sciences Fellow of IBS

james.walker@swri.org

Xiaodu Wang, Ph.D.

Xiaodu Wang, Ph.D.

Professor

ASME and AIMBE Fellow

xiaodu.wang@utsa.edu

210-458-5565

Hung-da Wan, Ph.D.

Hung-da Wan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Graduate Advisor of Record for all ME MS programs

hungda.wan@utsa.edu

210-458-6325

Xiaowei Zeng, Ph.D.

Xiaowei Zeng, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Graduate Advisor of Record for PhD program

xiaowei.zeng@utsa.edu

210-458-7698

Staff

Ben Campos

Ben Campos

Adminstrative Manager

Ben.Campos@utsa.edu

210-458-6021

Cayla Jimenez

Cayla Jimenez

Program Coordinator

Cayla.Jimenez@utsa.edu

210-458-6477

Student holding a circuit board

Your future starts here

Offering degrees and certificates in engineering, architecture, construction science and management, historic preservation, interior design, and urban and regional planning at undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral levels

26

Degree programs

4300

Students

141

Faculty